Anna Thomas, City of Manchester Public Health Director, 2020 Citizen of the Year

Nominations are now open for Citizen of the Year!

Every year the Greater Manchester Chamber  holds an event to honor a Citizen of the Year. This is a tradition that began in 1954 and continues today. The date of our next Citizen of the Year Celebration is TBD!

The Citizen of the Year award recognizes an individual with outstanding leadership and citizenship in the community, while demonstrating exemplary vision, civic pride and commitment to the betterment of society.

Nomination Criteria

The individual should live in the greater Manchester area, and/or his/her activities should be centered in this area. Recognition will be given for leadership and performance in several areas of community service over a period of years. The individual recognized does not have to be a member of the Greater Manchester Chamber or the business community. It may be an individual from any walk of life, and there are no requirements or restrictions relating to gender, race, religion or ethnic background.

Nomination Procedures and Rules

Complete this form and attach it as the cover page to accompany letters of explanation and recommendation. If a candidate is not selected this year, the nomination will be automatically resubmitted next year. All nominations will be kept confidential. The award will not be given posthumously. No seated elected official will qualify as Citizen of the Year.

Since 1954 the Greater Manchester Chamber  has presented one outstanding individual the Citizen of the Year Award. This group has been paramount in shaping the Chamber’s agenda and the greater Manchester community.

Click here to nominate a COY!

We are Proud to Honor our Past Citizens of the Year

1954 - 1969

1954:  William F. McElroy, Industrialist

1955:  Med M. Chandler, Hills Dept. Store

1956:  Mary G. Manning

1957:  Dr. Robert B. Kerr

1958:  Avery R. Schiller, Public Service Co. of New Hampshire

1959:  Maxwell E. Duckoff, Salvage Shoe

1960:  William S. Green, Sheehan Phinney Bass + Green

1961:  Rosco A. Ammon, Ammon Terminal

1962:  Josaphate T. Benoit, Mayor

1963:  Joseph H. Geisel, Saint Anselm College

1964:  Adelaide Dodge, Retired Teacher

1965:  Irwin W. Davis, YMCA

1966:  Walter S. Little, Industrialist

1967:  Thomas H. Buckley, Public Service of New Hampshire

1968:  Francis P. McGranaghan, Chief of Police

1969:  Victoria Y. Estfan

1970 - 1989

1970:  J. Fred French, Banker

1971:  Owen Johnson, Businessman

1972:  Alfred L. Sicotte, Trucking Magnate

1973:  John G. Drayton, Consultant

1974:  Robert P. Burroughs, Burroughs Corporation

1975:  Laurent Chalifour, Businessman

1976:  John McLane, Jr., McLane,Graf, Raulerson & Middleton, P.A.

1977:  John J. Reilly, Jr., Reilly Electric

1978:  Ralph A. McIninch, Banker

1979:  Dr. Sylvio Dupuis, Mayor

1980:  Raymond Closson, Public Service of New Hampshire

1981:  Frederick W. Griffin, Griffin Insurance

1982:  John J. Coleman, New England Telephone

1983:  Howard Keegan, Amoskeag Bank

1984:  Kimon S. Zachos, Sheehan Phinney Bass + Green

1985:  Monsignor Phillip Kenney, Clergy

1986:  Ralph E. Jensen, Numerica Financial Corp.

1987:  Selma R. Deitch, MD, Child Health Services

1988:  Raymond F. Truncellito, Truncellito & Davis

1989:  Herbert Stebbins, Stebbins Association

1990 - 2009

1990:  Mary Mongan, NH Dept. of Health & Human Services

1991:  Raymond G. Cote, Harvey Construction

1992:  Patrick Duffy, NYNEX

1993:  Beverly L. Arel, Moore Center Services

1994:  Jack Middleton, McLane, Graf, Raulerson & Middleton, P.A.

1995:  Sister Carol Descoteaux, Notre Dame College

1996:  William E. Marvin, Manpower of Manchester

1997:  William T. Frain, Jr., Public Service of New Hampshire

1998:  Frederick B. Kfoury, Jr., Central Paper Products, Inc.

1999:  Raymond J. Wieczorek, Mayor

2000:  Elias “Skip ” E. Ashooh, Elias E. Ashooh, Inc.

2001:  Bradford E. Cook, Sheehan Phinney Bass + Green, PA

2002:  Dr. Eugene Lariviere, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Manchester

2003:  Dr. Richard Gustafson, Southern NH University

2003:  J. Michael Hickey, Verizon

2004:  Claira P. Monier, NH Housing & Finance Authority

2005:  Robert A. Baines, Mayor

2006:  Barry Brensinger, Lavallee Brensinger Architects

2007:  Richard I. Winneg, W S I Industries

2008:  Brian Tremblay, Boys and Girls Club of Manchester

2009:  Dick Anagnost, Anagnost Investments

2010 - 2019

2010:  No Citizen of the Year – Centennial Celebration

2011:  Stephen Singer, Merchants Automotive Group

2012:  Joseph B. Reilly, Centrix Bank

2013:  Arthur Sullivan, Brady-Sullivan Properties

2014:  Ellie Cochran, The NH Charitable Foundation

2015:  Andy Crews, AutoFair

2016: Dianne Mercier, People’s United Bank

2017: Maureen Beauregard, Families in Transition – New Horizons

2018: Michael L’Ecuyer, Bellwether Community Credit Union

2019: Peter Ramsey, The Palace Theatres

2020 - Present

2020: Anna Thomas, City of Manchester Public Health Director

Need More Information? Get in TouchContact Us